You can type here any text you want

Turning Boost Down a Bit

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

joejakegrace

- Remember, I'm new to turbos!!

I have moderate knocking at heavy throttle boost. Remember, the car is tucked away for the winter so I can't double check on the road but I remember boost showing in the 20s.

Of course I don't want to damage a 16k motor - nor do I want to modify it. What's the easiest route? Can I adjust the stock wastegate controller down? & How??

Its either controlled by chip or adj. wastegate. You could also have an overboost problem. First, look and see if you have an adj. WG and then go from there. If stock, then pull the chip and identify it. Lets us know what you find.

HTH
Bo

OK thanks guys & stay with me. It's too cold, salty and ugly out to do too much with the car. That, and there ain't no chip or wastegate on anything I've wrenched in the past!! - I'll let you know.

Don't start the car again until you have a scan tool....20 PSI of boost without some high octane fuel is a dangerous risk for engine damage!

Check the proper wastgate actuator length....Something like 4.62 inches, to make 16-17 PSI of boost, no more until you do some more reading ;) Someone here wil know the exact length for a stock actuator.

:)

Picture it all soaking in...

But not start it? I'm missing something - isn't boost measured under throttle? At idle, and even normal operating, we're not talking boost are we?

On mine, even moderate / gradual accelerations that kicked the turbo didn't result in knock. Only flooring it (which I did 2x).

I'm slightly overwhelmed with the data. Got the SM and am making my way through it. WHat's the best single source for Buick Turbo Tuning for Dummies? I need to sit down with a beer and Read but I find myself going all over the place and not able to follow my own thoughts.