What sort of boost...?

theman1990

TurboBuick.Com Supporter!
So I've been reading and learning but at the end of the day, I'm still new to turbos and Buicks. I'm trying to get an idea for ballpark boost that my combo can handle (safely, not looking for the ragged edge.) Stock block bored 30 over, forged crank, rods and pistons, ARP studs throughout and a main girdle, not sure about the main caps. Full roller 212/212 cam/valvetrain with Stage 2 GN1 14 bolt heads and cometic gaskets. Bigger turbo w/ front mount, upgraded exhaust and downpipe. Fueling is 60lb/hr and boost-a-pump. Computer is FAST XFI 2.0 and it's currently at 14psi but it starts blowing off excess boost nearly immediately. Just trying to get an idea where I can consider going boost wise. I understand that the "real" numbers will depend on tuning and AFR etc.

If you are running pump gas with no alky injection you might be able to run a few more lbs of boost but you need to watch for knock. With alky injection you can probably push it up to mid 20s. With e85 and enough fuel system you can go even higher.

On pump 93 you will be limited to 17 - 18 psi max and even then you have to watch for knock . Octane is your friend ! The easiest way to run more boost is race gas , the cheapest is Aly injection and to me the best is E85 . If E85 is available in your area , you would need more pump , bigger injectors and possibly new fuel lines . At this point you would want a wideband O2 if you don't have it already . I went bottom 10's with less than what you have in my old motor . More power means drivetrain upgrades also ...it never ends !!

What turbo and how are you controlling boost?

Blowing off excess boost, like the stock style actuator or wastegate?

You're combo with those heads and a big turbo will crush 60lb injectors fast unless you're on alky or twin nozzle so I would hold off and get more seat time and experience.

What turbo and how are you controlling boost?