Ever been beat by a Mustang? Let's hear about it

Originally posted by gnxs

As to the Cobra motor, yes it's stout, but the pistons have been the first thing to go on high (600+ rwhp and up) applications.

What about the rearend in these cars (cobras)? In the last couple of years I've seen more than several break rearends with maybe only a few mods and slicks.

It appears that the rearend is the weakest point on the car?

I know I have been beating on my GN for several years and the stock 3:42 posi has held up fine.

jayG,

Thanks. As I reflected, I've owned 3 mustangs in my time. I recall the SVO quite well, even see one on the road, albeit very infrequently.

As you appreciate, the SVO is sort of the red headed step child of the corral. They are an interesting car, and I'm sure they have a proud, if small following. I also am aware that folks have gotten them to make lots of HP, and track very fast.

I like all kinds of cars. It doesn't have to save Buick or GM on it...

:D

You're a man of my own heart....( I still think the t-Buick is one of the best cars ever made) ,but we have quite a few svo's in the club that make 300rwh and over 380fpt that are driven daily and still get 22mpg. Most of which have over 100k on the motor. We even dynoed a 200K(stock engine & turbo) car that still put down 170rwh. I have a video clip of one that runs mid 9's in the 1/4 mile that Im sure you would enjoy but the forum dosent allow me to post pics or videos.:(

Ok, Ive tried to edit my post three times with no sucsess... what gives. I cant post attachments(because Im a jr member) or edit my post but one can post items for sale without a price( BS):mad:

Originally posted by fast86gn
Originally posted by gnxs

As to the Cobra motor, yes it's stout, but the pistons have been the first thing to go on high (600+ rwhp and up) applications.