You can type here any text you want

A/c help

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

jbaker

Clutch wasn't engaging....added some 134 to it.....compressor clutch now cycles on and off like every 5 seconds but only on for 2 seconds at a time....ideas?

Ambient was 90*.....15 psi when I hooked up....I put in small amounts till compressor kicked on. Sitting at 50 psi and compressor pulls it down to 20 or so when it kicks on.

Since I'm no expert here it will go to the shop if no one has any solutions I'm capable of doing....unfortunately they just serviced it last July and now it doesn't work....dah

Dunno, I was using what I had left from filling my s10 last year just to see if it was low and could get the compressor to come on. I don't have an a/c kit with all the gages. Prolly just drop it at the shop again :-(.

Short cycling usually means not enough freon. Need to have gauges to properly diagnose.

Low side with compressor on needs to be minimum of 30 psi.

Unplug the low pressure switch, located on the accumulator, and jump it with a piece of mechanics wire. This will force the compressor to stay running. Add freon until you have 30-35 psi.

Make sure you have the blower fan on high while doing it.

Gotter fixed...shop put dye in last year....leaked out of r12 to 134 adapter....tightened up, over rode comp, and put a can in....now ice cold! Thanks for the help guys!