AN Fitting Help Please

ChrisCairns

Right now I'm in the middle (perhaps muddle) of connecting the new fuel cell to the new Weldon pump using -10 line and fittings.

I've never worked with AN stuff before and I'd appreciate help from someone who has.

How tight do I tighten the fittings onto the braided line itself?
Do I use any sealant ANYWHERE, which includes the line fitting onto the cell fitting?

And one more request....to anyone who knows the answers...can you reply as soon as you read this. At my age if I don't continue with the work I'll fall asleep here at the keyboard. :D

Thanks.

Use the teflon sealer only on pipe threads. When I get home tonight, I'll send you some instructions on assembling the hose ends.

Mark

Originally posted by MG8T7GN
Use the teflon sealer only on pipe threads. When I get home tonight, I'll send you some instructions on assembling the hose ends.

Mark

Thanks Mark...but by then I hope to have most of it finished. While sitting here I realized I could probably go to the Aeroquip website and did so....they gave me part of the info I needed...such as just what you said about pipe thread but also said to use a lubricant on the threads (non-pipe fitting) to prevent galling.

As for how tight....I think I'll just go tightened them until I go "UUUUggggggghhhhhh."

Thanks again for replying.

Russell has a good website too. They have some good instructions on assembling lines and fittings

Chris,

At the most, tighten the hose end fitting until the two parts just touch. It'll take some effort and will be plenty tight. I tend to leave a small gap. Do not overtighten, and also mark or put a piece of tape on the hose so you're sure it doesn't squeeze out during tightening. BTW, those aluminum wrenches you see for this stuff are made in lengths "short enough" to discourage people from twisting these assemblies into pieces :)

Art Freeman

Originally posted by JoyOf6
Chris,