You can type here any text you want

Bad Master Cylinder?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

NVRL8

Huge Member
Did a few searches and think I have a bad master cylinder. Hope you guys can tell me for sure.

My brake pedal goes to the floor every time I apply it. The Powermaster motor runs with each application as well. I have brake fluid leaking from the passenger side reservoir and looks like its leaking around the pressure switch as well.

That's going to put a dent in my wallet! Does the Cardone one look original? The pics in the link make it look so.

The Cardone looks original - because it is. It is a remanufactured unit. The accumulator is a new unit but looks very similar to the original. I don't know about the Wagner unit. At the price of these puppies, I didn't want to pay for more than one. That is why I went with the lifetime warranty Cardone unit. Kirban Welcome to Kirban Performance Products also carries the Cardone unit - their part number 7021. The other options are to go with a vacuum conversion or a hydroboost. Either way, it is not cheap - but what is on these cars?

Does it make sense that with the key off and the acc. discharged I have firm pedal pressure, and it does not go to the floor?

Hydroboost Conversion

The Powermaster Has A 1.250" Master Piston. It Is Really Hard To Push The Pedal Without The Motor Running To Build Pressure. You Only Have About 250-300 Psi Manually. Usually The Motor/pump Wears Out, And The Motor Windings Fill With Brake Fluid, Shorting It Out. If The Pedal Drops Much Lower Under High Pressure, There May Be A Caliper/pad Problem, Or Rear Brakes Out Of Adjustment

Powermaster kicking my a**

Swt 86 sent me the service bulletin for Powermaster. (Actually same one I had in Peter Hoffman book).