You can type here any text you want

Beginner tuning question

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

V8minus2

Hey Guys,

So, I’m new to the TR world and I’m looking for some pro advice! I’m in the process of buying an 86 GN, and I want to make sure I have everything mapped out as far as performance modifications to the car so I do everything in the right order and as money allows:rolleyes:

My question is, for computer tuning, how do most people go about actually tuning the parameters such as fuel, spark advance, etc? I’ve seen so many different chips, tools like the scan master, maf translator, etc. But I’ve found no definitive answer anywhere on what hardware you actually change parameters with.

Do you use the scan master, or hook a laptop to the ECM? This is what has me confused, since most people just say they “tuned their car”.
I want to know what type of hardware is needed to tune a TR. I don’t want to run a fast xfi or anything, Just looking for what’s needed to build a good, high 11s regal

Thanks for your help! And I apologize in advance for the "dumb" question:frown: , i've tried searching!

Is the 86 GN stock that your looking at buying? I would buy a good chip such as a Turbo tweak chip, give Eric your cars combination and he will burn you a chip for that combo. Just pop it right in the ecm and you will be amazed how the car idles and performs, and if needed you can adjust fueling parameters through the chip. For a scan tool I would start off with the scanmaster and learn to tune with that and see how far you want to go from there if all your looking for is high 11's.