Boost Difference

lrover2

Here is my weeky dumb question. My boost seems unstable. When I floor the car from a stop I get 15 lbs of boost. If I floor the car from 30 miles an hour I get 15 lbs of boost. With me so far? If I floor the car from a stop and the tires slip I get 18-19 lbs of boost. If I floor the car from 50 mph I get the 18-19 lbs. What gives? How am I supposed to know what I have the boost set at.
I am running race fuel right now so I dont knock but what happens when I am not running high octane?

I am still learning about these beasts so dont take this for Gospel but it sounds like a problem with the wastegate ar the puck. Could have a vacuum leak somewhere also

Well I just put a new wastegate and the TH downpipe so I am pretty sure those are ruled out. As far as the vacuum goes I guess I will keep replacing lines. Thanks

Believe it or not, some chip makers vary the boost table in there chip. I have one aftermarket chip from red armstrong that went from 19# to 17# along a given rpm band. At the time my car would knock at the top of third and fourth. Fixed the knock problem at the top of third. However, your problem sounds like a wastegate solenoid on its way out. If the car is high mileage you might want to replace both the wastegate actuator and solenoid. Good maintenance...

If you are going to the stock solenoid it may be bad. Hook it up tuner style and see what you get.

Not sure what tuner style is. I have the vacuum line hooked directly to the turbo coming from the wastegate. I am a little naive to this world of turbos but I am here to stay so lay it on. :)

Ok heres what i did: