You can type here any text you want

cam/timing chain question new to forum

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Hello, I am new to the Turbo buick forum, but have a question regarding cam choice and timing chain choice. I am working on a 87 gn and the motor was recently rebuilt. The guy put the cam in at 4 degrees advance. I was taking the motor back apart to put the cam at zero, per comp cams reccomendation and i notice that the cam had some type of pitting that looked like rust, I pulled it out and I noticed that it is a Conley Performance 221 duration at .050 cam, I think that this is much too big and need advice on what cam/ timing chain to use for a 2800 stall convertor. thanks for your help.

Hello, I am new to the Turbo buick forum, but have a question regarding cam choice and timing chain choice. I am working on a 87 gn and the motor was recently rebuilt. The guy put the cam in at 4 degrees advance. I was taking the motor back apart to put the cam at zero, per comp cams reccomendation and i notice that the cam had some type of pitting that looked like rust, I pulled it out and I noticed that it is a Conley Performance 221 duration at .050 cam, I think that this is much too big and need advice on what cam/ timing chain to use for a 2800 stall convertor. thanks for your help.

I'm sure some others will post up on this. What else has been done to the car, what other mods? Below is a great site to get a bunch of easy to read info at. There is also a wealth of info on this site as well, you just need to look in the archives and past posts. :)

Vortex Turbo Buick Performance