You can type here any text you want

Chasing a ghost, need help bad!!!

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

dgreen1069

What happens when a crank sensor malfunctions? What are the symptoms?

How much retard is normal at wot at the 1-2 shift on a stock car? What causes excessive retard on a stock car? I saw 10 on my scanmaster this afternoon while I was checking all my readings. That was at WOT just after the 1-2 shift. The O2s were around 810 (on pump gas).

I have a slight miss that is most noticeable at cruising speeds when the TC is locked. I have a scanmaster and everything seems to be where it should be. I have pulled my plugs and they look fine. I thought my injectors might be the problem, but now I don't know....I thought I would see something with the plugs. My car only has 6,000 miles and is bone stock. This problem is driving me nuts....it is like chasing a ghost. Would a bad coil pack cause a miss or slightly rough idle? Is there any way to find the problem without replacing parts one at a time? Anyone near No. Va that knows these cars? Please help before I go nuts!

I forgot to add that the plugs have been replaced and the wires were swapped (temporarily) with new ones. The intake was also cleaned out thoroughly. Neither the plugs or the wires improved the slight miss.

If the problem started out of the blue, I would suspect you may have gotten a bad tank of gas. If possible you could put some race gas in and see if that clears the retard up or drain the tank through the fuel rail and try some new high octane fuel. Bad gas will cause alot of weird problems. I would start here.