You can type here any text you want

Compression Testing for Dummies

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

OvaBoost

Quick Brick
I just picked up a high mileage 87 GN on Friday. I want to do a compression test, but I have never done it before. Just picked up the gauge and wanted to know if someone can walk me through the best and simplest way to do it.

A Compression Testing for Dummies would be nice!

Thanks,
Bill

Good idea both for you to learn more about your car and a teaching experience for you! :)

First disconnect the computer power orange wire at the battery.

Remove all the spark plugs.

Turn the engine over about 4 times for each cylinder and note [write down] the first reading on the gauge and also the final reading.

The first reading should be about 90 psi, final about 150 psi, and all cylinders should be within 10% of each other.

Just to clarify...

Ok, so disconnecting the ORANGE wire at the battery will disable BOTH the spark and fuel. :confused:

Is that correct??

I'll be doing by myself, so should I be pressing Accelerator completely down to the floor (WOT) to open the Throttle Body while cranking?? :confused:

Thanks for the all the help!!!

Ok, so disconnecting the ORANGE wire at the battery will disable BOTH the spark and fuel. :confused:

Is that correct??

I'll be doing by myself, so should I be pressing Accelerator completely down to the floor (WOT) to open the Throttle Body while cranking?? :confused:

Thanks for the all the help!!!

No on the computer (orange) wire, it will not disable either of those. I'd pull the FI fuse and the spark plugs, as Nick says, then block open the throttle body with a shim (or anything else handy) and proceed as directed.