You can type here any text you want

False Lean Idle Condition?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

tonydee64

Hey guys, I think I have an easy one for you. I have yet to get my car on the road and I am new to this fast ECU, but I've read up on it as much as possible. Anyway, from the very beginning my car pumps out visible black smoke at idle (enough to make your eyes water in the garage). I finally was able to run a data log tonight and sure enough my actual A/F ratio stayed real close to the targeted A/F ratio, around 14.1-14.5 (the O2 sensor was making the proper adjustments). This has always perflexed me and I made sure that I don't have any AE fuel kicking in (the Aft corr% is at zero). I also changed my plugs as they were black (obviously rich).

I have my closed loop set for 500 rpm so it will work during idle.

Here is what I'm thinking... I read in the FAST facts that if you have a large exhaust and/or a long duration cam you may be getting a false lean condition at idle due to a lack of air movement over the O2 sensor. I have dual 3" exhaust and a long duration blower cam.

I'm thinking that I need to take the ECU out of closed loop during idle and simply take fuel out manually from the base fuel table at idle. I guess my question is: How do I know that my A/F ratio is correct at idle? By simply looking at the plugs...

Would any of you be willing to send me a gct. file of your setup? I have made guesses for mine based upon what I have read, but I have no idea if I am even in the ballpark... My e-mail is Tonydee64@sbcglobal.net Thanks guys...!!!

Set 02 correction at 1000 rpm. Then take the four cells in the ve table around the idle marker and bump them down slowly until the engine starts hunting then bump it back up until it settles down. Do this slowly. You can watch your A/F ratio while you do this.