You can type here any text you want

has anyone ever heard this sound?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

John84GN

Nice Monte...
I just put an adjustable wastegate on my 84 b/c the boost was in the 18-20 range, and I lengthened the rod about 1/2 inch. I took the car out, and I barely had knock...boost was in the 15-17 range...on the way back ( I only went about 2 miles up the road) I hear a pinging type sound...like metal rattling. no rattle under boost, but at idle, it was noticeable...not loud. Pop the hood and I'm sorry to say, that it sounds like it's coming from the turbo...if I raise the idle, no noise...just at idle.

I'm no expert, but it's probably the impellers, right?...please say no, but I think I'm right:( What, if it is this, could have caused this?!?

No problem with power, and no smoke, and the sad thing is that the turbo is AGAIN about 300 miles old...this is the second one in 2 months!!! I am startin to think bad things about my GN :(

John

If a turbo's blade was going to hit the housing then you would hear it...big time...and it would not be consistant....its more a fast "ripping" itself apart sound....

I would drain the oil in it, and if you don't see any metal then you are ok...even if a turbo did rip itself apart on the compressor side you would probably need to rebuild the motor because all that metal would go directly through the motor......

my guess..its a loose bolt, or a washer rattling around somewhere on the motor.....