You can type here any text you want

Help me understand camshafts

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Jerryl

Tall Unvaccinated Chinese Guy
I have looked at Hyd roller cams and have seen a few options.
(Picked a few examples);

More intake timing - Example - Weber 212/206/111LSA /0.503/0.496 lift
More exhaust timing - Example - FTS 206/210/110LSA / 0.516 lift
Single pattern - Example - Weber 206/206/109LSA / 0.496 lift

I realize that the timing of the events have a lot of effect, as well as the porting, efficiencies, etc, but these cam event timing specs are not listed.
What I am trying to understand, is why some have more intake timing than others.
Cam techtips

More tips :eek:

So I guess my question is :wink: ;
For a 231CI 6 cylinder turbo changed motor, which philosophy do you subscribe to and why? :confused:

I'm by no means a cam pro however to pick a proper cam one must acknowledge first which combo/parts & use (street or track) will be utilized. heads? turbo? converter? etc...

IMO- Roller cams are the way to go. They provide less friction and eliminate flat tappet camshaft lobe wiping.

I'm by no means a cam pro however to pick a proper cam one must acknowledge first which combo/parts & use (street or track) will be utilized. heads? turbo? converter? etc...

IMO- Roller cams are the way to go. They provide less friction and eliminate flat tappet camshaft lobe wiping.

True, so let's say you have the turbo and converter matched (Call it TE44 and 2800 stall for example).
Do you think it changes the requirements as far as "more intake vs exhaust lobe duration"?