You can type here any text you want

Hybrid wiring choices

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

fuzzyGN

Hello all. I have been collecting parts for my hybrid swap for a few years now. I was planning on buying a parts car and using everything from it to make the conversion. I actually found a car but it was much nicer than anticipated so now I am torn on what to do. I could remove the engine, trans, wiring harness, and whatever else but then I have a roller that is of limited value unless someone was going N/A. If I just remove the engine and related sensors but leave the harness in the car then the value jumps up.

So, the question is, for those of you that have already built a hybrid, was the stock wiring harness of much value? Or by the time you remove what isn't needed and terminate at new location etc. it was more work than it was worth? I know it isn't cheap but Caspers has the entire engine bay wiring harness which would be all brand new and while it is being built he could leave out all the stuff you weren't going to use. I guess one could go even futher and go with a FAST or BS2.

I want to make the car simple and more of a show car driver versus a racer so the FAST would be a bit over the top. I probably will look into a MAFless setup more for packaging purposes but I plan on keeping it simple and close to stock. Anyone have any input or "I wish I woulda ..." Thanks

I just did a swap a few months back... the engine harness is essential to the swap and you can get one in real nice shape, just put a post on the boards looking for one.

The caspers one is a fortune.

Matter of fact, I think someone was selling the caspers one on the board for like $200 cheaper than they ask for it.

But either way, you CAN find a nice used one in good condition. Without that harness it will be a wiring nightmare.