You can type here any text you want

If you could build your dream 231 turbo?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

stinkinlinkin

If you read my post about the 200 dollar riv. motor I got, you know I know nothing about the 231 turbo, but I am eager to learn.

I am looking for literature on these engines, aswell as tricks to get max. hp.

From my research on google, I know that the connecting rods from the 1981+ 231's are an upgrade, and that's about all I can find on the subject of upgrades.

So here's my question:

If you could build the ultimate junkyard special 231 turbo, what would you do?

I want max performance with streetability/reliability.

Are there any books out there to help me.

What are the best heads, rods, pistons, crank, cams, intake...etc.

I really appreciate any help, as like I said, I am a complete noob, and I want to learn as much as possible to make a really great car.

Thanx again,

Corey ;)

Turbochargers by High MacInnes
V-6 Performance by Pat Ganahl.

I'd leave the shortblock alone if it's healthy. Alcohol injection. Knock gauge. Boost gauge. Then tune, tune, tune. (ported heads would be nice.)

These motors are about lowering the knock, then upping the boost and repeating as necessary. :)

http://home.flash.net/~rjgeorge/racing.htm

Here's what I'm doing, which Rich and others will tell you is overkill for our levels of boost: