You can type here any text you want

Injector opening time questions...

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Ricky Trussell

I posted this in another thread but thought it would get a better look on it's on.

What reason would you set your injector opening time other than
1.0mS ??

Say I have 42 lb. injectors with a VE at idle of 55 and a 1.0mS setting and I change my opening time to .5mS. Would I not be just leaning the engine out and have to change my VE table to higher numbers to get back to my A/F target??? looks like to me I would max out my A/F correction .

Yep, I'm a noob, but seeking a higher edumacation. :o :o

Typically you want it to be set to the actual opening time.

1mS is generally close, but if you notice that your VE table has large numbers (upper 70) in the idle portion of the map, your opening time may be too small.

On the other hand, very low numbers (30's) in this range generally signals the need for a shorter opening time.

This will have a dramatic effect on the idle quality/tunability as the % change of VE is greater with smaller numbers eg. changing the VE of 50 to 51 is 2% whereas VE of 30 vs. 31 3% change.