You can type here any text you want

Intermittent Stumble Cruising and not Revving Out

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

1987 Grand National

I've owned my '87 GN for about 2 months now, and it has a miss/stumble cruising under light load and will not always rev passed 4000-4200 rpm, but sometimes it will. It just stops pulling and sits there. It seems worse with engine warmed up and also in warmer weather. I think it's probably coil pack/ignition control module but I'm new to these cars and wanted to ask before I wasted my money.
Thanks Everyone

I've owned my '87 GN for about 2 months now, and it has a miss/stumble cruising under light load and will not always rev passed 4000-4200 rpm, but sometimes it will. It just stops pulling and sits there. It seems worse with engine warmed up and also in warmer weather. I think it's probably coil pack/ignition control module but I'm new to these cars and wanted to ask before I wasted my money.
Thanks Everyone
Hello, Its likely that a miss/stumble from either coil pack,wires,plugs,would be accompanied by a check engine light.Could be a MAF sensor too? Have someone check for codes or if you have a scanmaster,you can check it yourself. And FWIW, if you dont have one,that would be job one as you can monitor all the settings required to have a sound running GN.

I took the car out again tonight and I saw that the O2 sensor is about shot so hopefully that will fix it. Although it should not effect WOT correct?

Hello and welcome to the site!

Can you give a little more details about the car? All stock or?

Has it ever gone over 4500 rpm? Or did this start after you had the car a little while?

Rick

If the engine feels like it's hitting a brick wall at 4500 RPM's...then I'd guess valve springs.