You can type here any text you want

My Gn's Running Bad - Need Help

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

QuikRick

My '87 GN sat in the garage for about 5 months. Wasn't driven but started up at least 2 times and backed out of the garage and then back in. I recently had to move it 30 miles to put it in a different garage and it ran terribly bad. No power whatsoever, got quite warm and backfired and died several times. It had been low on gas but I filled it up just prior to the move and prior to it running bad and I'm sure the new gas was getting to the motor. This is a Texas car but it is currently in California and my ex GN mechanic is in Texas. I'm a pretty good mechanic but haven't done much with GN's. The car has had extensive modifications done to it but always ran good prior to this recent move. Now, when I start the car up, while it is idling, there is a small pop or backfire (kind of like a cough) coming from the top of the engine every so often. Does anyone have any quick fix troubleshooting ideas that I might try? And if not, would anyone know of a good GN mechanic in central California near the coast, to wit in Paso Robles or San Luis Obispo or Santa Maria? Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Possibly bad MAF? You mentioned extensive modifications. Just what are the mods? We need to know these. Scantool?