You can type here any text you want

natural breather ignition timing help

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

turbo3.8monza

I built up a 3.8l for my Monza the specs are as followed
bored .03" over
ported 8445 heads with 1.77"/1.5" valves
9.5:1 compression
TA performance C110 cam custom ground for the v6
.455"/.465" lift
218/224 duration @ .050"
110 lobe separation
port matched Kenne Belle single plane intake
600 CFM edelbrock carb
custom made almost equal length headers (took me forever and a day to make)
the trouble I'm having is I can't find a good initial timing point, I can get it to idle nice but anything past 2500 rpm it detonates and if get it to rev good it struggles to idle. I'm running a HEI dist. with Mr. Gasket advance kit with the light springs. I'm still pretty new to Buick game any help would be appreciated

Back your initial timing down. You need to set the timing at max rpm with an adjustable timing light. Did the heads and block get cut? If so you may be running to much compression now and it's causing the det issues.

the heads and block where cut just enough the make them flat not for increasing the compression. I'm only running about 9.5:1 static compression.
I have the timing at 12 degrees it revs very quickly and clean. the idle is almost acceptable, it idles like it should for the most part but every so often it shudders

With that cam you have to run a lot of initial timing. Put heavier springs on the weights to slow the curve down.