You can type here any text you want

NEED HELP-- "ECU not found" fault...what to do???

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

mustangracer42

I just bought a new sequential system and after installing it I can't get my laptop to connect to the ECU. I get an "ECU not found" fault. I have tried two different laptops, one with XP as an OS, and the other has NT as an OS. I also pulled my desktop out there and tried it and got the same results. My desktop has ME as it's OS. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm new to this stuff.
Thanks
Jeremy

Jeremy which sequential did you get? You had the key to the on position correct? If this is Excel NT4 and XP will be harder to get it to work because of the program being fully dos based.

Scott, I purchased the sequential system without individual cylinder control. The part # is FAS 30-213310.
I did have the key in the on position and the 12v switched wire (pink) has 12v going to it with the key on. I think the main problem is that I am using Windows NT and Windows XP and they are both too new to communicate properly with the ECU. I spoke with Tony and Mike at FAST and they don't know what else could be wrong. Craig and Lance are in Memphis for a few days so I can't get their input on it. It really sucks to pay so much money for something that isn't up to date as far as software goes. I understand that there are always newer versions of software coming out though so I'll be patient.

Any more input would be greatly appreciated.
Jeremy

I had the same problem and found that the connector that plugs into the computer has a ground wire in it that was not grounded. I opened up the connector and wrapped the wire around the screw that holds the connector together. I also screwed the connector into the computer.
Jeff Rand