New Buick Dune Buggy

buickbuggy

I am new to these motors and as the title entails I have recently purchased a dune buggy that is powered by a 1984 Buick Grand National motor (non turbo currently) that has some work done to it. The problem I have is I don't know what kind of work has been done internally, i.e. what can is in it, whether it still has stock heads or they've been worked at all, and if it still has stock pistons or higher compression. I know it has a Smokey Yunick Weiand intake, Holley double pumper 600cfm, Accel distributor with high power coils, and homemade headers.
I just bought a complete turbo setup off a 1979 Regal and am thinking of swapping it on. I'm wondering what kind of difference the stock Air Research turbo and quadra-jet would make, and if it would make difference making an adapter to use my current intake instead of swapping the stock intake on? I'm not trying to run a lot of boost, maybe 6-8psi, so if the pistons are higher compression I think I should be able to avoid detonation still.

Glad to see you made it over here finally. This is the big board and the little board is pretty much dying now. I moved your post to the B4black section so you can get a better response. I'm Charlie (B4turbo), and Aj (dr_frankenstein) as well as Rich (B4black) is here. We've got a bunch of guys that are trying to prove that these cars can be made faster as well as reliable.;)

Thanks for pointing me towards the correct area of the forum, now if I can just figure out where to go with my motor I'll be good. I wish there was an easy way to find out what's inside it because there's no way I'm tearing it apart just to see. I've thought about taking it to a dyno shop to see what kind of power it's making and that might give me an idea what's been done to it.

If you had a bore scope you could look into the combustion chamber through the spark plug hole and see if the pistons's a flat top or dished. If it's dished then it's most likely low compression.