new to gn and volt problem

jonstaley89

Hey guys im new to turbo buick world but not gbodys. I was wondering what I should know as a new guy to the trbo buick world. Also having alternator problems. Changed alternator and battery and car still doesnt hold a charge. Before new battery died while deiving. Since the new battery the turbo even lags from juice. Ideas? Is the new alternator bad? Everything os hooked up correctly.but now the tuebo begans to build but doesnt boost, I think its bexause of the charging problem. Any help would be great and info

Lol. Umm no it doesnt but pulled out the dash and replaced the volts bulb with a 194 bulb and still no volt light

Also on the back of the volts socket has some kind of white plastic resistor with a little fuse in it. That normal?

Have you checked out the ground connections? Also you can ask for help in the southwest forum. There is probably someone in New Mexico that is close enough to lend a hand.

Lol. Umm no it doesnt but pulled out the dash and replaced the volts bulb with a 194 bulb and still no volt light

That's your problem. The volt warning light has to work for the alternator to work. If that bulb gets some corrosion in the socket or if the socket doesn't make good contact with the plastic ribbing strip it will kill the charging system.
The resistor is there so the charging system will still work if the bulb blows. I would take a pencil eraser and clean the hell out of the contacts on the ribbon strip and the bulb socket. Once the volt light starts working, you should be back in bidness.