Noob needing help, not building boost and backfire

wile2k

Guys and gals a bit of help please,

86 T-type.

Car was running fine a couple days ago. I got on it passing a car on the freeway, one time it was fine, next time I heard a bit of a popping in the exhaust just as I began to enter boost. Now that is all I get, right as I should be starting to spool and build boost, I hear a little popping through the exaust and it doesn't spool.

If I push it, it will build boost erratically and if I really push it it will backfire. I have a scanmaster, but I'm pretty new to the car so i'm not sure what I should be looking for on it.

When not in boost the car behaves very nicely, it idles smooth and accelerates smooth up until about 40% throttle when it should be beginning to enter boost. I pulled the intake pipe and the turbo feels ok, it spins smoothly and doesn't seem to have any play in the shaft.

I really dont know where to start with it, please keep in mind that I'm pretty new to Turbo Buicks, so I might need a bit of babysitting. Right now I'm thinking electrical (MAF, crank sensor, coil), but that it doesnt build boost properly really has me worried.

Help appreciated.

um um

look into a set of good head gaskets, and put in some arp head studs while your at it. is'nt life great? :)

Hey,
I would inspect all of your IC connections. Chances are you blew one loose.
Remember to start out with simple stuff first. :)

Come to think of it.. I would guess its the motor. You should just buy a stage block. :D JK!

yeah

start small, he's right. Could even be a vaccume leak, bad ignition, bad maf, then do a compression check. Probably your head gaskets :D good luck man.

LOL, guys breaking in the new guy right eh?

If it was head gaskets, would it not build boost anymore? Same question for cam?