On the hunt - 86-87 GN 'nother new guy

Tori

Hi guys, I'm Tori and i've been shopping for a GN for several months now. I'm in California and have my eye on an '86 that i found a few months ago. The seller and i disagreed on price and there were some issues with the car that he seems to be in denial about. The car was on a consignment lot and i never actually got to speak with him, just correspond via email.

Anyway, a little about me: I've been a car guy for the past 27 years. Had several collector cars and built a few hot rods. I work at an auto repair shop (not as a professional tech) but i do work on all my own junk. I even recently sold one of my collector cars to make garage space and free up a few $ in prep for a GN

I'm wanting to find a very clean, straight, perfect interior car. Stock is preferred since it will have to pass CA. emissions and i don't know yet what i can get away with and still be smog legal. (maybe someone can advise me on those details) The car will be my cruiser, and will not be expected to be the fastest thing on the road. I've just been playing with mirco cars for too long and it's time to step back into a fullsize and ruin a few tires.

I expect to have the car at my work this friday and will do a full inspection on it, i've downloaded the PDF GN buyer guide, so will give that a look.

I've just started reading the advise others have been given, and am learning alot. BTW, this car is solid roof except for a sunroof. I'm not pleased by that, but at least it's not a T-Top car.

I do have a few questions about options. I know about the RPO decal, and the options listed, but what were the major options for the cars ? I've seen 3 different instrument panels, 85mph/140mph/Digital. Any input on those ? What about wheel options, was it just the two ? Steel vs. Alum. or were the Alum. strictly GNX ?