You can type here any text you want

Pulling Rear Axle

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

MCH86GN

How tough? I guess that would depend on a variety factors. I have to replace a backing plate and for some reason it escape my attention that I would need to remove the axle to get it off. I probably need a profession, since I have no experience. What a pain just to replace a simple backing plate.

Remove the rear diff cover and drain the fluid. Rotate the carrier until you see the cross pin bolt & remove. Slide the cross pin up enough to push the axle in and remove the c-clip, then pull the axle out. Really not too bad. Might as well replace bearings & seals while you're in there.

Remove the rear diff cover and drain the fluid. Rotate the carrier until you see the cross pin bolt & remove. Slide the cross pin up enough to push the axle in and remove the c-clip, then pull the axle out. Really not too bad. Might as well replace bearings & seals while you're in there.
Sounds like it might not be too bad of a job, but once in there and have never see the inside I may ask more questions. Unreal, that such a stupid move will cost me this work. Good idea on replacing the bearings and seals, they are not that expense. The only thing that sux, I just replaced the rear diff. fluid in prep for this summer driving.

One thing I will do, is document the procedure with pictures and video and post the vid on tube.

Thanks,
Charles

Does it make a difference on the approach if I have an Eaton Posi?

Worst thing that can happen is the bolt that holds the crosspin in will break. It is a total PIA to do then.