You can type here any text you want

s2 question

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

blackbox

How much to build a complete s2 motor that runs in the high 9s or low 10s that is streetable. BY streetable i mean driving it more than just on special days. Thanks

I remember reading back on a thread that a guy built one for 9k. I am still trying to figure out where you can get all the parts alone for that.

You would be far fetched to do it for less than Travis said COMPLETE. Remember that the only difference IMHO is the cam selection that will make it more durable for the street. The rest is usually built like any other high output Stage II. Be aware of all the junk parts floating around there.

Thanks guys for the info. I am new to the buick scene and am looking to buy my first one. I know somethings about them because my friend and his family are buick people and all of them own gn except for the mom. I was also woundering how much would it cost to rebuild a s1 motor to handle 10s and be able to drive it on the street. thanks

To add up all the money spent on building a S2 car (with S2 heads) would make you run screaming in the opposite direction. Then when you get into it, you find out how many parts you have to fabricate on your own because NO-one makes it. You have to LOVE these cars to be crazy enough to take on a Stage 2 project.

Building a stock headed (TA, Champion, or M&A) headed motor might be a little easier because you can use stock intake and exhaust manifolds, But, ain't nothin cheap about building one of those either.

Price: $15K. Aggravation: included free. Pride and thrill of building your own: priceless.

Dave

I'm into it for a lot less than any number quoted so far. In my case though, substitute "cubic time" for "$$".

Originally posted by DFAST1TTYPE
Dave:

Very well said! Do not forget a couple of G's for braided lines.

:cool: