Shell synthetic oil

TURBOV6

"SECRET PARTS"
Staff member
I was just at Wall-Mart and noticed this........Shell Rottell T Synthetic oil, for Desiel and gas engines, it full synthetic for $41.04/case, the case has 6 gallons in it. Is this oil any good? It seems kinda "too" cheap.

I work for Shell, although I'm a deepwater oil production engineer. I have been to our R&D facilities, and talked with the guys who develop and test new formulations. Here's a little background.
First, when Texaco and Shell formed the Equilon partnership a few years ago they used the Havoline brand as their primary marketing tool. This meant that Shell oil took a major backseat in terms of consumer marketing. That being said, the Shell R&D group did the bulk of the work to develop the Havoline oil formulations as you buy them today. The problem? Well, Chevron just bought Texaco, so the Havoline brand name is gone...Shell had no marketing "hook". Thus, they bought Pennzoil/Quaker State. But my point is that we have the technology to develop some serious lubricants. Shell Rotella is a big-time name in commercial and industrial lubricants. This is probably why you are getting a good price on the stuff...no overhead for retail advertising...when was the last time you saw an ad for Shell oil...they only advertise gasoline.
Bottom line...it should be really good stuff, on par with the Mobil 1s and other "brand name" synthetics. I'll try to get in touch with some local product techs and see what they know about the stuff.
Jeff

Supposedly very good oil...

I had a knowledgeable fellow who has owned several diesel trucks tell me that Rotella ought to be a great oil for a turbo car like our Turbo Regals. He told me that it does not break down like the other oils he has used -- ie doesn't turn black and get watery as fast.