You can type here any text you want

Slow spool

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Tim Barnum

I just aquired a 89 TTA with a 60-1 turbo, 218/218 cam, ported heads, big neck intercooler, 40lb injectors. The car still has a stock converter and spools very slow. Should I install the stock turbo to run high 11's or do I need to get a converter and stick with the 60-1 turbo? All I want for know is 11's:D. Thanks Tim

Glad to hear about the purchase. I am one of the other guys in the OKBuicks club w/ a TTA. I would say w/ the combo you have, get a bigger stall and maybe some bigger injectors. I don't know to much about your turbo. If it is any thing like a TE-60, which I think it is, bigger stall will help a ton. I have the TE-60 in my car and I have the Vigilante 3G stall on my and it spools pretty darn quick. But I am no expert on this so I am sure some other people will chime in. Anyhow, good luck and I can't wait to see it!

The 60 turbo has a 4" inlet and a 2" outlet with a 3" down pipe and stock exhaust:mad:. I took it out just now and I can spool it to 5lbs boost with the foot brake on the street. So that may do the trick at the track with the cutout open.

Tim,
Just ran an open dump all the time, I ran mine open all last summer and never got pulled over.. it isn't that loud.
Or try throwing the car in Nuetral and reving the engine while pushing down on the brake, build some brake vacuum should hold some more boost at the line. Also, u might want to try building boost while holding your E brake, it seems to work for me, but I can't get my tires to grip.
~Murt

Stock turbo runs out of steam..those injectors will get ya there static.

A bit mismatched..that big of a cam, bigger turbo, 40 lb injectors ??? , and a stock converter..

Wish you luck on your quest..