Smoke or Steam? See Vid

Terbro

Has Member
I've noticed either smoke or steam coming from the exhaust when the motor is good and warmed up. Actually, only when it's running a bit on the hot side; ~190 degrees. It's a freshly rebuilt motor. I'm a newbie to E85 and just read last night that E85 will produce a lot more water, but it's odd to me that it would be produced when the motor has been running for over 1/2 an hour and only when it's running on the hot side* I'm in Colorado, and it's very arid here, so steam doesn't last long in the air. I smelled it, and it seemed to smell a bit more like smoke vs. steam.

* I was getting into boost while test driving. I've got a new HE radiator, but a stock fan, so I'll need to upgrade the fan.

Just took this vid:

I'm in Florida with tons of humidity and no smoke (full E-85 for 6 months) hope it's not a head gasket! Compression check? Plugs wet? Good Luck..................

You mentioned freshly rebuilt motor. The smoke on the video is hard to gauge the color but on my phone it does have a hue to it. Oil? Did you have any work done to the heads? Did you seat the rings properly? Was the turbo rebuilt?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The color of what's coming out the exhaust is white (or maybe light gray). The heads were completely rebuilt with new valves and some port work. Turbo was a new (to my knowledge) CHRA BB with a used housing.

Remove radiator cap while heating up motor you may see some traces of bubbles or low level if leaking thru motor. Pull dipstick several times and look for milky film if water is in oil shut it down, pull plugs & do compression hot and cold to confirm. Hold a rag at tailpipe, you should be able to smell a sweet fume if this is E-85 residue? If water is passing to exhaust it will seam steamy and feel damp to the touch on the rag. Good Luck....

Pulled a plug. How does this look? Motor has about 300 miles on it since the rebuild.

Attachments

• DSC01747-lr.jpg
    DSC01747-lr.jpg