Some Questions

T

Tripower

I'm new to the Turbo Buick motors and I was wondering if someone could give me a run down on the different types of blocks available. Which were odd-fire/even-fire and on-center/off-center etc. Also, the newer SeriesII (3800) Buick engines are similar but I hear they can't share any parts from the older engines, what makes them different?

Does anyone have a FAQ page with some details? I would like to read as much info as I can so I can start my project.

Quick run-down: Buick V6s were odd-fire (two rods share a common journal) until mid 1977. 1978-up engines are even fire; the rod journal was split 30 degrees to allow an even firing order. Some race builders later ran odd-fire cranks in their Stage motors as the oddfire crank is stronger (especially for stroker cranks where the split pin becomes a thin point).

The Buick racing program got into high gear in the 82-83 time frame; Buick began working on the Stage parts. The Stage 1 and Stage II blocks began production around 84-5; they were heavy duty, race-only versions of the production blocks with a revised, better casting.

The Stage 1 and Stage II share a common casting but differ in finish machining; the Stage 1s are machined the same as production blocks (wet sump, 2 bolt mains, 8 head bolts per side). The Stage IIs got 4 bolt steel mains, relocated pickups and later dry sumps, relocated cam oil galleries, and 14 head bolts.

The split pin for even firing motors resulted in a rod offset in the bore; this "off-center" design carried through for all production V6s. In 1987 at the power levels the Stage blocks were producing, this became a problem and the blocks were revised with shifted bores to eliminate this offset, creating the "on-center" blocks. The on-center blocks carried through into the early 90s with various production revisions including revised rear main oil seal, cross-bolted front and rear mains on later blocks, etc.