You can type here any text you want

3800 turbo selection info

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Apples

Hi,
I am building a 3800 Series III Aust engine.
I am looking a fitting L32 rods with ACL forged pistons or Dimond pistons 8.5:1
heads will be flowed std heads to start with and ported latter.
I will be making custom manifolds and turbo mounting.
I need help with cam selection and ball bearing turbo.
thinking may be a GT35/40R Internally Wastegated but I am no expert.

Car weight in at 950 kg with cage for street / strip.
Will be using a T5 or T56 gearbox if T5 blows up.
Will be running a BTR diff with 3.08 ratio or 9" if BTR blows up.
Will be using 26" tyres as biggest that will fit under vehicle.

any help in selecting parts would be greatly accepted.

Apples

you need to specify some performance targets...and from that hp/tq targets. then you can select parts.

if you have a series iii, then you already have the strong rods. and the stock pieces can take 400+ whp.

i know that a t04e 60-1, with a stattama stage 1 cam makes 478 whp with stock heads. it spools around 3000 rpm. a 60-1 with t3 turbine will spool faster, and still make ~400 whp.

a gt35/40r, aka gt3582r, is similar to precision's gt6131r. so it depends on whether you want a t3, or 3 bolt turbine housing inlet. hint: pte will be much cheaper.

check out zzp/stattama's turbo kits for ideas.

hth

thanks for the quick reply.
sorry after reading my post again I see I forgot some info.
only the late series III engines had stronger P/M rods.
As I am starting with a L36 engine so I require the L32 rods or after market rods but unable to find any.
I would like to get around 600hp at the flywheel.
As I dont know what the final use for the car will end up full drag or other track I will stick with a manual gear box for know.
every one I talk to in Aust has no info for cam or turbo.