You can type here any text you want

82 Sport Coupe Engine Wiring Help

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

blacknight80

Hi Guys

I'm a newb to the turbo regal world so bare with me. I just picked up an 82 sport coupe the other day and it needs some work. I need help with engine wiring. One of the previous owners removed the air pump and the wiring on top of the intake is a rats nest. So if anyone has a wiring diagram or any help at all I would be very appreciative. There was what looks like a maf sensor in the trunk that was partially melted and a plug that matches what is on the sensor is loose on top of the intake. Should this motor have a maf sensor under the carb.

Thanks in advance
image.jpg

Welcome to the board. If you haven't do so, go to your user controls and add some info like location and your vehicle. That's not a MAF, that's the base plate heater that was intended for emissions when the engine was cold. They're long out of production now and since it's bad just throw it away and use a thick style carb base gasket. As far as a diagram goes, have you checked www.beforeblack.net to see if Rich's site has what you need?

I've got the diagram but no way to scan it. Hopefully Rich will jump in with something.:)

This is what you are looking for.
http://www.turbobuick.com/forums/threads/1982-turbo-regal-vacuum-and-wiring.395992/

No need for a MAF sensor on a carbureted engine - The carb does the fuel air/fuel metering. That's an electric EFE (Early Fuel Evaporation). It took the place of the EFE heat riser butterfly that was in the driver's side exhaust manifold on early engines. It provided heat to the incoming air while the engine was warming up on a cold start. Unless you are driving this car in the very cold, you probably don't need it. And it's very expensive if you can't find one. Leaving it unplugged is OK.