You can type here any text you want

87 GNX rear suspension questions

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

dixiespeedway

Dixie Motor Speedway Tech
hi guys, my names grant campau, i am a tech official at dixie motor speedway in birch run michigan. last friday we had a racer try and pass off a rear suspension i know isnt a gnx, but he wanted proof.

the class this car is requires a complete stock partial frame, all suspension components must be stock and in stock location. you can mix makes from ford to gm and so on. this particular car has a camaro front subframe, and is claimed to have the g body 87 gnx rear sub frame. but, the rear torque arm is not stock, it has heim joints on all mounting points, and the panhard bar is on the wrong side. all connected to a nine inch rear end. the axle is legal, the rest of the suspension components are not.

what i was wondering, is if anyone that owns a gnx could help me out, i need pictures of the torque arm showing its design and that it has bushed ends. i also need pictures showing the rear frame brace and the panhard bar, which is also bushed. if you could also measure the frame just after the rear frame hump. i have looked all over the internet and found no actual pictures of the torque arm, or any measurements. if you could please send pictures to goat_1020@yahoo.com it would be greatly appreciated. thank you in advance.

This is all I have.

Attachments

• KASH GNX 003.jpg
    KASH GNX 003.jpg
    88.2 KB · Views: 566
anyone have a side view of the torque arm? and could you guys email me the pics? idk how to print em off of here.

thanks guys for all your help, we presented the information to the racer and his car was disqualified for both weeks. sad that we lost a car , but best for the other racers. thanks again.