You can type here any text you want

Blew my MAF apart-unglued

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Martin U

What might cause a MAF to split in 2 pieces. I had just installed a boost controller and made a run earlier in the day. 20# boost-Ok just where it was, no problem. I went home and checked out my PL files, just a hint of KR 1.0-1.2.
Mind you I'm just learning to tune with this WB.
I felt i was safe giving the mbc 2 turns to see if it changed my boost pressure. added more alky just in case
I was rolling in to it at about 50mph. Boost came up-BANG. "DRT" It spit and sputtered home. I took a look on the side of the road under the hood and it split apart from the maf pipe on the TB side. meaning it was getting lots of air AFTER the MAF.
Was able to hold the 2close enough to get it to run-sputtered a bit at tip in is all. When i got it in the garage, I removed the MaF and found it had split along it's long axis. It looks like it was glued that way from factor. Some of the hot glue?? inside the circuit board area had turned soft and jelly like.
I'm thinking I could just epoxy it back together. The hard part will be the round piece thatwas still in the pipe.

It spiked my KR & jumped to 30# of boost.
Question is 1) what would cause this,how much pressure does this thing see at times?
2) can I epoxy/jb weld it back together with some band clamps?
I'm sure the MAF went first then all the readings went haywire.
I'm an unemployed diemaker CNC programmer in mi,so all the fancy$$ parts will until i can learn to make pizzas or something.
It seemd to run smoothe when I held the pipes together,making me think if I did a good fix it should be OK for a short time.
What cha think? :mad: :confused:
Mart Urbanski

Just moved from Flint (also an unemployed diemaker) :( Chances are it may have been dropped at one time. These things are fragile.