You can type here any text you want

Boost stuck at 12 pounds?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

JKGeorge1116

I just recently bought an 87 regal t type, this being my first turbo car im a bit new to all this. I was attempting to turn down the boost. when i bought it it was set to about 25 pounds of boost and the car is pretty has pretty much stock internals. It has alky injection. Well once i turned the boost down i got it to about 10 pounds. but when i tried adjusting it higher it hasn't really responded. i have it set on max boost at the moment and I'm getting just about 13 pounds of boost. Anyone have any idea whats going on?

How exactly are you adjusting the boost? Adjustable wastegate or something else? I'm no expert but I'm kinda thinking this is the first question one will ask so hell while you're waiting on one to show up, how ARE you adjusting the boost? :)

Here is a picture of the setup

Attachments

• IMG00235.jpg
    IMG00235.jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 473
This is going to be harder than I thought.

Ok, I see you have an adjustable wastegate rod. Is this your only method to adjust boost? (remove rod from flapper, loosen jamb nut, turn end of rod to increase/decrease boost) Or is there an external adjustment you're using?

yeah that is exactly how i adjusted it. and yes this is the only method set up for adjusting boost right now. a couple people have said it might be the puck not closing all the way? I'm not quite sure how to check that though.

Are you making the rod longer or shorter when trying to add boost?
Should be making it shorter.
How do you know you've max'd th adjustment? Are you just unable to pull the rod back over the arm, or you ran out of adjustment?
I use a pair of long reach small diameter hose pliers to grip my actuator rod...better than burning through a pair of mechanics gloves while trying to work around a hot turbo.