You can type here any text you want

cam change?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Jayblack3333

Just gettin' addicted
I have my motor out at the machine shop getting work done (squaring, honing, bearings, etc....forged pistons) I guess you would call it a freshening up. I just bought the car, it is an 87 GN. I blew a head gasket after 2 days (What can I say, I like to go fast) and since then its had problems. My guys told me that my crank is no good and I had thrust and rod bearings shot. I am curious about the cam, should I change the cam while its all taken apart or leave the stock cam. If I should change it out, what size would be good for a 75% street car. I'm hoping to get a low 11 sec street car. I'm new to this turbo world and I need some direction.

What turbo? Injector size? TC?

Heads would benefit u way more then a cam. But there also alot more $$$

FYI..the stock head On our cars r the same heads that cam on the late 70s early 80s naturally aspirated 3.8s

Ive got a new 5857 turbo, 60lb injector, w/ TT chip. I believe its a stock TC, unless it was left out by the previous owner in the list of upgrades. It had a Te44 turbo so I would assume it was stock. The heads had some work done to them and the machine shop said they looked to have been done well. I am just curious if I would see any great gains or advantages to changing out the cam since its easily accessible at the moment. Ive heard the stock cam will run 10's with no probs? So I thought I would ask

You need to figure out why you had other problems. Its likely the crank thrust failure is not related to the head gasket failure. Post up pics before they proceed and you drop and $ off there.