You can type here any text you want

Cold Idle & Off Idle stumble

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

1fastGN

Hello All,
I am a new GN owner and need some advice!

I recently purchased an 86 GN w/ TE 44, V4 IC, .030, 206 cam, etc, etc...and I notice that when the car is cold, it idles really rough, and seems to want to die. Also, when driving the car (at any temp), when I step on the gas, it seems to hesitate a bit, stumble, then runs okay.

I have a scanmaster and Directscan, but I am not sure what values to look at in order to troubleshoot my problem (O2 volts, IAC, BLM, INT, etc).

I guess what I'm saying is I have the tools, just don't know how to use them. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

When I first bought my national my idle would change dramitically, bounce from 600 to 1300 rpm's but i changed my chip from the one the guy i bought the car from put in there to a correct 93 street chip well correct for what i have done to the car, you might also want to check out your tps sensor...

Set your TPS to 0.42v, set your IAC to less than 20 counts. Is the throttle passage and IAC passage clean? Sometimes debris or oil will keep the throttle blade from closing all the way to the correct setting. Who's chip are you running? What injectors are you running. Is the O2 switching once the engine is in closed loop? What are the BLMs and INTs readings at idle (in closed loop)?

Originally posted by 1fastGN
Hello All,
I am a new GN owner and need some advice!

I recently purchased an 86 GN w/ TE 44, V4 IC, .030, 206 cam, etc, etc...and I notice that when the car is cold, it idles really rough, and seems to want to die. Also, when driving the car (at any temp), when I step on the gas, it seems to hesitate a bit, stumble, then runs okay.