You can type here any text you want

Distributor or Not

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

J-B Racing

Forced Induction
O.K. since I am new to S2. it is only 2 Months that I have this Motor. So my question is this::
What is the advantage of going to a Distributor over the Cam Sensor with a DIS-4 that I have right now?
I am only planning shifting around 7000 RPM. My current Ignition worked great on my 109 which I was shifting around 6800 without any issues.
What I have present is the Cam Sensor, and the DIS-4, no Balancer for Stock Ignition.
What I don`t have is a MSD to run a Distributor, and the Harness, but I have a ATI Balancer BBC style
that is NOT properly fixed on the Crank, and a Crank Trigger that I am not sure if it is any good.
So to run the Dist. I need to get the MSD 7AL, Harness, Machine the Damper / maybe the Crank which I do not want to touch ( $2600 Crank ), and have no idea how to Time this set up when I get around to it.
or
Just get a BHJ for stock Ignition and run the Stock set up.

Suggestions................please..
Thanks

O.K. since I am new to S2. it is only 2 Months that I have this Motor. So my question is this::
What is the advantage of going to a Distributor over the Cam Sensor with a DIS-4 that I have right now?
I am only planning shifting around 7000 RPM. My current Ignition worked great on my 109 which I was shifting around 6800 without any issues.
What I have present is the Cam Sensor, and the DIS-4, no Balancer for Stock Ignition.
What I don`t have is a MSD to run a Distributor, and the Harness, but I have a ATI Balancer BBC style
that is NOT properly fixed on the Crank, and a Crank Trigger that I am not sure if it is any good.
So to run the Dist. I need to get the MSD 7AL, Harness, Machine the Damper / maybe the Crank which I do not want to touch ( $2600 Crank ), and have no idea how to Time this set up when I get around to it.
or