You can type here any text you want

Eliminating the muffler on a TTA....

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Lee_Burough

..Never Forget..
Staff member
I'm thinking of eliminating the muffler on my TTA. I'd replace the muffler with pipes to exit and still be stock appearing from the rear. My car is still stock except for the Ta-49....

Anybody done this? How loud would it be with the CAT still in place?

The original owner put a Midas muffler in there. The Midas employee wrote in big letters across the receipt that the muffler was not free flowing enough for a turbo.

Opinions?

:)

I have a flowmaster cat back system on my car. The muffler is actualy bolted in place with what looks like a header flange. I made me a new pipe so I can unbolt the muffler and replace it with the new strait pipe. Saved alot of weight and is only realy loud at idle.

Put the rite muffler in place. A dynomax ultraflow.

Most muffler shops carry them.

Lee_Burough said:
I'm thinking of eliminating the muffler on my TTA. I'd replace the muffler with pipes to exit and still be stock appearing from the rear. My car is still stock except for the Ta-49....

Anybody done this? How loud would it be with the CAT still in place?

The original owner put a Midas muffler in there. The Midas employee wrote in big letters across the receipt that the muffler was not free flowing enough for a turbo.

Opinions?

:)

put the Borla 14888 system on it, gives you the option to go straight through bypassing the muffler if you like...I'm considering this system for my TTA as well http://www.turbobuick.com/forums/showthread.php?t=177269

Don't do it! When I bought my TTA it was all stock except for a K&N and a straight pipe set up in place where the mufler went. It was abit loud, had a bad drone to it, and basically sounded like crap to me.