You can type here any text you want

Flat Cam ???

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

chadly

How flat does a cam need to be before you would notice it? I’ve never dealt with a flat cam but while tearing down a motor today I found what appears to be a flat cam. Would this be a strong no ticks no knocks motor? I’ve never heard this motor run, I just got the long block.
Thanks Chad

Attachments

• cam 1.JPG
    cam 1.JPG
    83.7 KB · Views: 304
  • cam2.JPG
    cam2.JPG
    80 KB · Views: 300
  • cam 3.JPG
    cam 3.JPG
    79.5 KB · Views: 316
I'm no pro but i went through this before. That lobe is definitely wasted.

Depending how long in ran like that i would check all the engine bearings, the oil pump gears and the turbo for play as the loose metal can and will damage all of these.

Do not reuse the radiator for engine oil cooling again because metal can get trapped in there and no matter how many times you change the oil the metal can release and go through the engine again. get and external oil cooler.

That's about all i can think of right now.

d

Did you just buy it as a good strong motor? I would say it could idle & run well but you would know there was something wrong under hard acceleration.

I bought it some time ago as a good motor, no ticking or knocking. The only issue with the motor was hot at idle the oil pressure would get as low as 15/16 lbs. I planned on rebuilding it with a roller cam so the wiped lobe is not that big of a deal to me. I’m just learning. Here are a couple more pictures that make me question how strong it ran. Either way it will be redone again just learning. I will hopefully pull the crank and rods next weekend.