General Maintenance questions.

JakeM

Hello - As you may have read in the introduction forum, my nephew just got a 1986 GN. It appears to be in great shape, however I have only seen pictures and haven't gotten my hands on the car yet. Keep in mind I'm a fairly experienced mechanic and I'm not new to high performance vehicles. As far as I know the car is all stock besides a shift kit and has a new turbo, or rebuilt turbo. Either way its OEM. We don't want to start getting into performance mod's yet, but we would like to bring it up to its maximum potential with what we have.

My questions are:

What should I be looking for on a 1986 GN with 110,000 miles maintenance wise?

Should we replace the factory fuel pump if its the stock one that was in the car? If so, what is recommended? In my limited reading here, I have seen a lot of mention of Walbro 340.

As far as tuning options, what is the best for a DIY setup? I am SCT trained and have a good bit of experience tuning EFI. This isn't something we are looking to do right now, but it will most likely come to the point where it needs a tune. Would it be cheaper/better to pick up a pre-programmed chip from TT?

What else should I be looking for, assuming everything is stock and has 110k miles on it?

I'm assuming the exhaust is going to need going over, this is a Iowa car but has little rust. But it would be a good bet the exhaust is ready to go. What is the best option as far as Down pipes? Preferably catless. The rest I can have done at our local exhaust shop for a good price.

Lastly, what tire size is recommended for the stock wheels? So that I don't mess up the speedometer. 255/60 rear 235/60 front for a daily driver?

Thanks,

Jake

Yes, replace the stock fuel pump...and the pump sock too. Also add a fuel pump hot wire to the fuel pump.