You can type here any text you want

Help...TTA backfires or pops

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

Scott89TTA

A little info 1st...I'm a complete noobie on these turbo cars and have a ton to learn. I have messed around with cars since the 70's but this is all new to me. I do have a Scanmaster and must admit I pretty much have no clue as to what I am looking at most of the time :confused:

We had some nice weather so I pulled the cover off the TTA to take it for a drive. First the battery didn't have enough to start so I jumped it and she started up...hadn't been started since late October. Once it warmed up I shut it off and restarted it a couple of times and it seemed fine. I took it for a short drive and all seemed fine. So I took it out Friday night to meet some local car club friends. Several times while getting on it pretty hard it sputtered and seemed to pop or backfire ? It did this a few times back in October before I put it away for a few months. Now the only thing I have done to the car is add a "Grumpy" MAF pipe and big K&N filter back in Oct. Ever since it has done this on occasion. It also did the same thing right after I purchased it back in May and turned out to be a bad alternator...was only putting out around 11 volts. So now looking at the Scanmaster I'm seeing 12.7-13.5 volts...seem low to me shouldn't I be around 14 volts? So not sure if I'm having problems do to low voltage or something I have wrong with my MAF pipe and K&N filter install since the problem started around the same time. Any ideas what is going on here?