You can type here any text you want

how to fix turbo oil leak?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

TireFryer

The New Kid
I am buying an 83 T-Type with an 85 GN engine in it. only problem is that it is leaking oil from the turbo, and hence overheats....how easy is it to fix the oil leak? Oil leak is supposedly due to improper seating when the turbo was installed.... I ask this since I am NEW to this and never worked on GN or turbo before. The car is in NJ and I would have to drive it back to Michigan, so I would apreciate it if someone in the NJ area might also be able to help me out in fixing the problem! :) I have had lots of experience with 3.8L 97+ supercharged Grand Prix GTP's, but none with buicks..... Thanx in advance

There's 4 places I can think of that a turbo would leak oil:
1) at the oil inlet
2) at the oil outlet
3) the intake side oil seal
4) the exhaust side oil seal

Leaking at the inlet and/or the outlet would make for a mess, and some smoke under the hood;

Leaking from the intake side seal will cause lots of blue smoke from the tailpipes from being burned during combustion;

Leaking from the exhaust side seal will cause lots of white smoke from the tailpipes from oil leaking INTO the hot pipes...

However, assuming you mean the engine is overheating, none of the above should cause the engine to overheat!

Fixing the seals basically involves rebuilding the center section. This can be done yourself, but it's better to let a shop do this! Otherwise, a new/rebuilt center section, or complete turbo is in order!

Where in NJ is the car located?....I might be willing to lend a helping hand.

and....also...where is the oil leaking from?..I know you said "The Turbo" but is it External, or internal?