You can type here any text you want

Hurst Shifter Install with Pics

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

GNDriven

Am I even remotely installing this correct?

I am a novice garage enthusiast. I am installing a Hurst Shifter into my GN. I have recently installed the TH400 seen in the pics below. I am eyeballing everything and trying to install everything the best that I can. I do not help with this, so can anyone please let me know if this is looking right?

In my efforts to mate the stock shifter plate to the Hurst shifter plate, I cut the center hump out and both of the back sides. I eyeballed the height the shifter needs to be in-order to use the console.

I cut the center console to get the shifter to move freely. I had to decide on cutting it and being able to return it to stock form. I did not see anyway around cutting the middle out. Right now the shifter looks to be sitting in a good spot. I can go through all of the gears. I have it zip tied down right now.

I installed the shifter cable. I had to elongate the holes in the cable bracket, for my pan holes are very close to the pan. The linkage hooked up fine. I did not have to bend the bracket to work. I would like to use the shifter bar that allows for reverse lights and neutral start, but I do not see a way to do that with what I have now. I am not a machinist so fabrication is guesswork for me. I plan on modifying a stock console top to work, or I might order one from TR Customs.

Any suggestions?

IMG_0384.jpg
IMG_0385.jpg

IMG_0389.jpg
IMG_0392.jpg

IMG_0397.jpg
IMG_0402.jpg

I'm not a fan of the Quater Stick. The front lever feels flimsy. I had one in my car and now I have probably the best shifter for a T400.......Cheetah Shifter. But anyway........

Are you re-using the rod linkage assembly that attaches to the column? If not, follow below.