You can type here any text you want

hybrid speedo/VSS questions

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

just plain john

El Camino a Go-Go!
I'm doing an El Camino/GN project, and would appreciate any opinion. The current speedo only reads 85 mph. Is it posible to alter that to something higher (say 145 :D )? Additionally, I don't understand the vehicle speed sensor. Will mine work or what? It/s necessary to have one for torque converter lockup, correct? I'm new to this so any help would be cool.

You do need VSS for lockup on the converter, but you can buy something from B&M that will get your lockup to work. Call Jimmy's Transmissions in mundeline, IL and he can tell you what you need.

I tried the VSS setup from Caspers and it was a POS and I was never able to get it working, so I'd cross that off your list.

Other than your converter, you only need it for picking up MPH on your scan tools. You can get a manual speedo.

Thats what I have.

Thanks for taking the time to reply. Its been a while since I started the thread. I'll check out your suggestion. Anyone else able to contribute?

I'm doing an El Camino/GN project, and would appreciate any opinion. The current speedo only reads 85 mph. Is it posible to alter that to something higher (say 145 :D )? Additionally, I don't understand the vehicle speed sensor. Will mine work or what? It/s necessary to have one for torque converter lockup, correct? I'm new to this so any help would be cool.

Use an MCSS gauge cluster... at least it'll get you to 115 on the cheap! :biggrin:

Someone used to make a speedo recal kit and an overlay for the speedo... but I dont recall who it was/is.