You can type here any text you want

I keep loosing oil pressure please help

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

That gn1 ase

hello I own my first national but I keep having a problem with the oil pressure I changed the oil pump and water pump n seem to get the same problem once the car warms up the oil pressure starts dropping all the way n starts knockin can somebody help would be greatly appreciated I'm new to this car thanx

The oil pump does not set the pressure clearance in the main bearings does. I'd start by cutting open the filter and looking for sparklies.

If the water pump was leaking obvious replace it, but why replace the oil pump?

Oil pump pickup tube loose?
Time to drop the pan, and have a look around.
Lots of miles on it?
Ever "rebuilt"?

The oil pump does not set the pressure clearance in the main bearings does. I'd start by cutting open the filter and looking for sparklies.
Thanx for the advice ima look into it very helpful

Oil pump pickup tube loose?
Time to drop the pan, and have a look around.
Lots of miles on it?
Ever "rebuilt"?
The car wasn't running wen I bought it so I took the engine out n sent it out to get rebuilt n mechanic I sent it out too is acting dumb ignoring my calls so just want to fix that problem hoping I can do it myself thanx for the advice by the way

A loose pickup tube would probably suck air and never prime again. Unfortunately, you probably have a bearing issue.

Always some info left out...
Now, you can follow up on the suggestions. Post back what you find.
If your "mechanic" is avoiding you, you may as well kiss that $ goodbye....He's aware of what he messed up.
Maybe post where you are located, and someone nearby can help.

Sounds like a clearance issue Clarance..... Guy probably builds sb Chevy motors.

Always some info left out...
Now, you can follow up on the suggestions. Post back what you find.