You can type here any text you want

Internal oil cooler for tranny ?

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

ikle

Hi guys just thinking out loud, I am in the process of redoing my transmission cooling system. I am thinking of using the "internal oil cooler" in my new GN1 radiator for a tranny cooler, I am using -6AN Teflon braided hose for the lines and also using an external tranny cooler. The reason for wanting to do it this way is the inlet to the internal oil cooler is much larger than the inlet for the internal tranny cooler. Has anyone done this before ? What do you guys think ?

SSedan64, i am no expert but if the ID of the tranny line is larger than the stock fitting on the inlet of the internal tranny cooler don't you think that would be a restriction. I am trying to maximize my current system so I will eliminate any tranny cooling issues, I would think if I go to a -6AN Teflon tranny line it would move more fluid faster and if the inlet port of the internal cooler was the same size or bigger it cool off the fluid better. Just a thought.

The -6 Line is larger than stock 5/16" Line. -6 OD = 3/8" --- AN sizes>>> SMOKEmUP.com
Can't the Fittings on the Rad be changed from Inverted flare to AN?
Faster flow isn't always better, faster flow can = less time for Fluid cooling inside the Cooler. Similar to running a Low Temp or no Thermostat in the Engine cooling system.
Engine Oil coolers have larger Ports/Tubes because Oil is usually thicker than Trans Fluid.