You can type here any text you want

machine work

Welcome!

By registering with us, you'll be able to discuss, share and private message with other members of our community.

SignUp Now!

blckdrgn1987

11.78 @129
Hello gang

To keep this short I am going to rebuild a motor I have to basic stock stats. I need to ask a few questions to the group. I want to take the block in and have it cleaned and check, the crank will need to be checked. I would like to do as much as posssible but I have limited knowledge on the details of the rebuild. Here are the questions. Can I take the block and crank to and machine shop or do you have any suggestions. Second, is there anyone in the savannah ga area that might be willing to come over and guide me in the assembly of the motor. I thank you for any help in advanced.

I'll get things started...

Before you do any teardown to that engine (I'm guessing that it is fully assembled), take a few pictures for later reference. Also take some pics as you disassemble the engine/accessories. get some small cups and/or cardboard to layout what fasteners went where.

Before you take apart the rotating assembly, mark the rods and rod caps with their respective cylinder #'s, and mark main caps for position. A numbered punch set makes this easy work.

Once the teardown is complete, taking a block yourself to be hot tanked and magnafluxed at a competent shop is not a problem. Same for the crank.

the key to a rebuild is working with a shop that is familiar with the Buick turbo engine. it can not be built like a small block Chevy (machining tolerances, etc.). You will need a good engine book with all the torque specs and sequences as well as new hardware (ARP?) for the mains, rods, and heads. If you have never done it before, maybe you should let the shop prepare the long block for you. That way, you have their warranty on their work.