MIA, engine is missing under boost

ThikStik

My sleep apnea is winning
Hello guys,
Iv'e got a gremlin uglier than my 1975 AMC. Its a miss 1 outta 3 times i punch it. And it is just when motor has been run for 20 minutes or so. Two weeks ago I had a full time miss under boost. Found a bad plug-that fixed it for about 6 days. Then i found an open (infinite resistance) plug wire. That fixed it for a day. Now it doesn't miss consistantly on each WOT just 1 outta 3 times. :confused:
I also have very inconsistant idle smoke. I have put in new valve springs and intake seals, less often but just as smoky when it does it. My turbo is new and I just removed it and vacuum test shows OK. I mention smoke because im wondering if it is related to miss. Plugs are not oily at all. Static FP=44, O2's are 790-850, retard not over 4, boost set at 16, usually run 18, and yes, turning it down seems to cut miss some. 93 octane. I am a GN newbie and just have my little Auto Xray 240 which Im hoping is giving accurate knock readings. Plugs are set @35. Reds wires are on the way. The car does have a periodic miss at idle and under a free 2000 rpm or higher it does miss fairly often. Coould that bad plug/wire have hurt module. The ohm test shows good on coil. HELP
Thanks

Sounds like a bad coil pack/ module. Ohming the towers is not a true representation of coils condition. It will tell you if it is definitely bad, but the test is not done under load. It may show good sitting on the bench, but break down at 2000 RPM. The only real way to test it is with the Caspers Coil Pack tester. It tests under simulated RPM load. If you can't get your hands on a tester, see if you can borrow a friends (known to be good) coilpack/ module setup and see if that cures the problem.

HTH :)
Paul

Well, ohming the coilpack doesn't always work. It's a good test & all, but sometimes it may ohm ok but still be problematic. Popping is usually related to an ignition problem, but can also be detonation (knock).